The Roses Tournament is an annual sports competition between Lancaster University and the University of York in England, and is the largest inter-university sports tournament in Europe. It is organised by their respective Students' Unions, YUSU and LUSU. It takes its name from the 15th Century civil war, The Wars of the Roses, between the House of Lancaster and the House of York. The competition is held every summer, alternating its venue between the two universities.


The first event happened on 15 May 1965 after the Vice-Chancellor of York, Lord James of Rusholme, suggested a boat race between the two universities. The students amplified this idea and held a 3-day event with a variety of sports: rowing, table tennis, relay race, mixed field hockey, and tug of war. The winner of each of the sports received two points, and the losing vice-chancellor presented a trophy to the winning university. The event has continued to increase in size since its founding, with new events added every year (2004 had 37 different sports). Live coverage of the event is broadcast every year by a joint collaboration between the two university's student television stations YSTV and LA1:TV, and its two student radio stations, Bailrigg FM and University Radio York. The importance of non-sporting social activities at the event has also been increased, with organised events on the Friday and Saturday evenings.


  • York: 26 wins (22 home, 4 away)
  • Lancaster: 25 wins (21 home, 4 away)
  • Draws: 1


2017 ???
2016 Lancaster
2015 York
2014 Lancaster
2013 York
2012 Lancaster
2011 York
2010 Lancaster


2009 York
2008 York
2007 York
2006 Lancaster
2005 York
2004 Lancaster
2003 York
2002 York
2001 York
2000 Lancaster


1999 York
1998 Lancaster
1997 York
1996 Lancaster
1995 York
1994 Lancaster
1993 York
1992 York
1991 York
1990 Lancaster


1989 York
1988 Lancaster
1987 York
1986 Lancaster
1985 Lancaster
1984 Lancaster
1983 York
1982 Lancaster
1981 York
1980 Lancaster


1979 York
1978 York
1977 Lancaster
1976 Lancaster
1975 Lancaster
1974 Draw
1973 Lancaster
1972 Lancaster
1971 York
1970 Lancaster


1969 York
1968 Lancaster
1967 York
1966 Lancaster
1965 York